Election Commission of India (ECI)


Altogether 375 candidates – 339 males and 36 females — will be contesting the February 27 state assembly polls.

Chief Electoral Officer Frederick Roy Kharkongor informed that no candidate has withdrawn their nominations and no seats are uncontested.

Friday was the last date for withdrawal of nominations.

As per the website of the Meghalaya Election department, the Congress and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) have fielded candidates in all the 60 seats, the National People’s Party (NPP) in 57 seats, Trinamool Congress in 56 seats, United Democratic Party (UDP) in 46 seats, Voice of the People Party has fielded 18 candidates, Hill State People’s Democratic Party has fielded 11 candidates and People’s Democratic Front has nine candidates while there are 44 independent candidates.