24.4 C
New York
Sunday, May 26, 2024

Buy now

Sunday, May 26, 2024

Polling officials depart for first phase of election in Meghalaya, ‘Green Elections’ initiative introduced

Tura, Apr 18: Polling officials along with EVM’s have left for election duty in the three assembly constituencies in South West Garo Hills district of Meghalaya for the first phase of Lok Sabha elections on April 19.

Speaking to Hub News, Hema Nayak, Deputy Commissioner of South West Garo Hills Ampati said, “we have three Legislative assembly constituencies Ampati, Mahendraganj and Salmanpara which falls under Tura Lok Sabha constituencies we have a total of 158 polling stations and 1000 of polling officials who have left for their duty with EVM’s and VVPATs,”.

“Out of 158 polling stations, we have engaged four polling personnel headed by a presiding officer and reserved polling officials will be there. As inclusive is an integral part for the Lok Sabha Polls, wheelchair facilities will be there in the polling stations and around 100 of wheelchairs have been given for the smooth conduct of the elections,” the DC further informed.

She said, “This time another special feature is ‘green elections’. Two saplings were handed to the polling station for the Green Election and the first male and female voters will get the saplings and they will plant them in the polling stations”.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Articles