National People’s Party (NPP) legislator from Resubelpara, Timothy D Shira, is all set to be elected deputy speaker of the Meghalaya Assembly, unopposed, for a second term.

None from the opposition parties filed nomination for the post.

Shira, who is the senior most legislator in the present House, filed his nomination paper for the post on March 17 at the Assembly, where he was accompanied by Cabinet Minister Marcuise N Marak, Chokpot legislator Sengchim N Sangma, Salmanpara legislator Ian Botham K Sangma and United Democratic Party’s Lahkmen Rymbui.

This will be Shira’s second consecutive tenure as deputy speaker.