19.7 C
New York
Sunday, May 26, 2024

Buy now

Sunday, May 26, 2024

133 candidates in fray for 50 assembly in constituencies in Arunachal Pradesh

Guwahati, Apr 1: A total of 133 candidates are in the fray for the 50 assembly constituencies in Arunachal Pradesh.

The Bharatiya Janta Party (BJP) fielded candidates in all the 50 seats while the opposition Congress is fighting only 19 seats.

The ruling BJP had already won 10 seats of the 60-member assembly uncontested. Among those won are Chief Minister Pema Khandu, and two first-time candidates- Ratu Techi from Sagalee and Hage Appa of the Ziro-Hapoli seat.

BJP has fielded 14 new candidates, while the NPP has nominated 16 first-time nominees.

The BJP has fielded four women, while the Congress has fielded three, and there is also a female Independent candidate.

On the other hand, a total of 14 candidates are fighting for the two Lok Sabha seats in the state. Eight candidates are in the fray for the Arunachal West constituency and six candidates for the Arunachal East seat.

A total of 8,86,848 people are eligible to vote in the simultaneous elections.

The state will go to polls on April 19 and the counting of polls for the assembly polls would be held on June 2.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Articles