10 C
New York
Wednesday, April 24, 2024

Buy now

Wednesday, April 24, 2024

Discussion on remaining border dispute areas to start soon


Meghalaya and Assam will soon start discussions on the remaining six of the 12 areas of difference between them without waiting for Parliament to give its approval to the Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) signed on March 29 on six areas.

The next phase of talks will also cover Block I and II.

Deputy Chief Minister Prestone Tynsong on Monday said there was no need to wait for the Survey of India to complete the task of realignment or redrawing of the inter-state boundary.

“We can step into the second phase by taking up the remaining six areas along with the first phase of the regional committees for solution,” Tynsong told reporters.

Out of the 12 areas of difference, the six locations which have been resolved by the two states include Tarabari (4.69 sq km), Gizang (13.53 sq km), Hahim (3.51 sq km), Boklapara (1.57 sq kms), Khanapara-Pilangkata (2.29 sq kms) and Ratacherra (11.20 sq kms).

The remaining six areas of difference include Langpih, Bordwar, Nongwah Mawtamur, Deshdemoria, Khanduli, Umkhyrni Psiar, Block I and Block II.

Admitting that the second phase would be very tough, Tynsong, however, said if people from the two states respect the decision taken by both the governments, “I am very sure we will be able to resolve the problem.”

The deputy chief minister further claimed that as for Block I & II,  there is no question of dispute or difference but it is a question of “retransfer”.

“There is no question of dispute, there is no question of differences, it is only a question of retransfer,” he said while adding, “But I will not detail everything because we are yet to step into the second phase but I am sure with the cooperation of our people staying in the inter-state border area I am very sure we will be able to resolve even this issue.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Articles