25.8 C
New York
Friday, May 24, 2024

Buy now

Friday, May 24, 2024

BJP releases list of 20 candidates, remaining 40 given to NDPP


The Bharatiya Janata Party(BJP) on February 2nd, declared its list of 20 candidates for the upcoming Nagaland Assembly elections. The BJP will contest 20 out of 60 seats in Nagaland. The remaining 40 seats have been given to its alliance partner, the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP).

Addressing a press conference at Party headquarters in New Delhi, BJP  State President Temjen Imna elaborated on the seat-sharing formula and said, ‘In the Central Committee meeting held under the leadership of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, and JP Nadda, it  has been decided that the Nagaland assembly elections will be contested by BJP with an alliance formed with NDPP where the seat-sharing formula will be in the ratio of 40:20’

The party has released the list of candidates for the upcoming polls in Nagaland. Deputy Chief Minister Y Patton will contest from the Tyui seat and Temjen Imna Along will contest from Alongtaki.


Meanwhile, NDPP has declared its official candidates for the General Election to the Nagaland Legislative Assembly 2023.

Sitting Chief Minister of Nagaland, Neiphiu Rio will be contesting from Northern Angami-II Assembly Constituency. Other senior politicians who will be contesting include Zhaleo Rio, Neikesalie Nicky Kire, T R Zeliang, Neiba Kronu, Kaito Aye, and R Khing.

For the first time, the party is fielding two women candidates, Hekani Jakhalu from Dimapur-III Assembly Constituency and Salhoutuonuo Kruse from 8-Western Angami Assembly Constituency.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Articles